School of rock – Week 8 – Melody

CC image Music Was My Refuge by Cindy Mc at Flickr

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. – Maya Angelou

SUMMARY

  • This week I learned how about how music works and learned how to use hooktheory. I think this week was good.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

  • Melody is musics most powerful tool
  • we have 4 notes that we know that are basically “genetic”
  • however many notes you have determines how small the space is between the notes
  • Aeollen mode
  • every song within the last 100 years has been dompletely diatonic
  • there are 3 elements that are key to melody: their pitch, the note, and their pattern

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • I learned how to use hookpad and how to make my own melodies

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend a total of 35 minutes in this ‘room.’

On my walk in the afternoon I walked around my neighborhood loop again and thought about school. After i’ve been going on walks it eases the anxiety

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

Melody Composition Terms

  • Theme – a longer more flowing idea
  • Motive – a short rythmic idea (beethoven’s fifth symphony)
  • Period – 8 measures of music
  • Phrase – a sentence fragment, 4 measures of music
  • Antecedent (Question) Phrase – first phrase
  • Consequent (Answer) Phrase – second phrase
  • Scale Degrees
    • Tonic – one scale degree creates a feeling of stability and resolution
    • Supertonic, Mediant, Submediant – several scale degrees create a high level of tension / need to resolve tonic
    • Dominant, Subdominant, Leading Tone – scale degree with a moderate level of tension
  • Steps – any movement using hald or whole steps
  • Leaps – any movement using intervals larger than a whole step
  • Conjunct motion – melody built primarily out of steps
  • Disjunct motion – melody build primarily out of leaps
  • Repetition – use repeated material to create a link between the two phrases of a period
  • Contrast – write two phrases that contain contrasting material to create tension and interest
  • Variation – half way between repetition and contrast. The two phrases include some recognizable material and some varied materal.

Melody Resources

Mr. Le Duc’s Key of C Major Notes and Chords Chart (PDF)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Today I learned how to use hooktheory and hookpad. One problem I had was trying to get the twinkle little star melody, I have very good pitch and usually can get that stuff but I was having a hard time with that especially because im knew to hooktheory so I wasn’t quite sure how to use it. I did it though.

Leave a Reply